Exploring downtown and Voyage of the Dawn Treader

My friend Kaley came to visit today, so I took her exploring downtown Lynchburg, goofing off in  antique stores like the Ikea scene in (500) Days of Summer,  and trying on ridiculous hats. We went to Market at Main for lunch, and it was awesome. I’d never been there before, but I’ll definitely have to go again. I love downtown Lynchburg because all the old buildings remind me of downtown Chattanooga, D.C. and Asheville.


This picture makes me laugh so much- for the record, I was trying unsuccessfully to keep the Albert Einstein wig on my head. I don’t know what is up with Lynchburg and wigs, but there are 2 wig stores on main street and all the antique stores had them too. I don’t understand it. And yes, I’m going to wash my hair super super well tonight. After we were done wandering around downtown, we got The Voyage of the Dawn Treader from Redbox.

I was surprised how much I liked this movie. Sure it barely followed the book at all, but I still thought it was pretty good. Edmund was kicking butt even more than he did in Prince Caspian (honestly, in that movie he and Lucy were the only characters who didn’t really annoy me), Lucy was insecure even though she’s adorable (being a teenager girl sucks) and Caspian was barely noticeable, which was fine with me because he looked like this. Dude, I wore my hair like that when I was 12. Not a good look for you.

And then I saw the sea serpent. Oi.

It looked kind of like the Predator from AVP, at least in the face. It’s scarier than some of the monsters in horror movies for grown-ups, and I was very, very creeped out. I don’t like snakes, sea serpents, or centipedes so I definitely don’t like it when they’re combined into one big scary monster. When I saw it unfold its little centipede-y legs I’m pretty sure I made this face.

All in all, this was a pretty good movie. I kind of wondered why they were adding to what Lewis wrote, (Seriously, you don’t need to add anything to C.S. Lewis to make it more interesting.) but I still enjoyed it. Go see it just for Edmund’s awesomeness and the sea serpent. Today was really fun and I can’t wait to hang out with Kaley and bond over food and movie references again. 🙂

By the way, here’s more VoDT screencaps.

