Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2

So yesterday I went to the Harry Potter premiere with Nicole. I’d never dressed up for a movie before, so I figured since this was the last movie, why not? She dressed up as Tonks, and I… well I don’t really know who I was. I wanted to go as Romilda Vane because I thought it would be hilarious to carry around chocolate and offer it to people if they asked who I was, but I ended up looking exactly like Hermione. Oh well, at least I managed to pull off a Hogwarts uniform without having to buy anything. Boo yah!

We left my house waaaay too early, so we ended up wandering around Walmart for an hour getting lots of weird looks. It was really funny. Then we went to the theater to wait for the movie to start. I was surprised there weren’t more people dressed up because I mean, this is Lynchburg, but the other people in our theater were really funny and excited. They were great to watch the movie with. And just so you know, I tried not to have too many spoilers, but there are probably some, so be warned: SPOILERS AHEAD!!!

And it was awesome! They did everything right, and had all of the important parts in, and even some parts that I didn’t even think about. I loved McGonagall telling the knight statues to protect the school and then whispering to Molly Weasley, “I’ve always wanted to  use that spell!” She was so precious and tough all at the same time.

Everyone in this movie was about 20x more BA than they were normally; everybody expects Harry to be awesome at this point, but I loved how the supporting cast really stepped up, like Seamus using his ability to blow things up to defend the school. I laughed so hard when Ron went chasing Goyle after he tried to kill Hermione with the Avada Kedavra curse, yelling, “That’s my girlfriend, you *numpty!” and then came sprinting back 5 minutes later because Goyle set the Room of Requirement on fire. And when he used parseltongue to open the door to the Chamber of Secrets, it seemed like a case of Crouching Moron, Hidden Badass.

Speaking of hidden badasses, Neville Longbottom is the man. He’s so cool, and I was a little nervous that they wouldn’t let him kill Nagini, but then he did, and it was fantastic. I loved when he went limping toward Voldemort to give his speech about how he would keep fighting even though Harry died, and when he went running off to find Luna to tell her he’s crazy about her because “We’ll probably both be dead by dawn.” Aaaaaw. I don’t care if he’s supposed to marry Hannah Abbot later (I think that’s what happened anyway…) that was so cute. He’s kind of my hero now.

I felt sorry for Draco because the poor guy cannot catch a break. When Voldemort offered safety to any of the Hogwarts students who joined him he had to cross over to Voldemort because his parents were there, earning dirty looks from everybody. Since he wasn’t a believer in Voldemort’s craziness anymore, I couldn’t help feeling bad for the poor kid. Plus, Voldemort gave him the most awkward hug in the history of ever. Eeww.

And then Snape- poor guy. They captured his memories perfectly, and you got to see and understand mini-Snape and oddly-botoxed younger Snape for the first time. So good.

Honestly, if you’re a Harry Potter fan you’re going to go see this movie even if I said it sucked, and if you really just don’t like Harry Potter nothing I can say is going to change your mind. But if you’re kind of on the fence about it, like “Oh, I don’t know if it’ll be as good as the books because sometimes they change stuff,” don’t worry about it, it’s totally worth it. Go see it! You won’t be sorry. All of the screenshots come from Rotten Tomatoes.

* Update: When I actually heard it at the theater I was like what did Ron call him? And then I read it somewhere and it all made sense. I’ve never even heard of a numpty, but it might become my new favorite insult…

