Spies Galore

Well today’s been… a day. I spent a good part of it fighting with technology, and I finally got my tumblr up to speed (or at least mostly up-to-speed) which took a while because of my general lack of tech-savvyness. But at the moment I don’t have enough patience to deal with it, so for the moment, it’s perfect. I think I’m gonna spruce Sight to Behold up too, so hopefully it’ll look all spiffy and new within the next few days. Woohoo!

I watched Unknown last night with Jack and my Dad; I went into it expecting a Bourne Trilogy and Taken mash-up, but it wasn’t! It was surprisingly good, but unfortunately if I told you what made it so interesting it would completely give away the entire movie and ruin it for you. So I’m just going to say that if you like spy movies, Liam Neeson, and Diane Kruger, go watch it. You won’t be disappointed.

I started John le Carre’s The Spy Who Came in from the Cold a week or so ago and got a little distracted, but I picked it up again today and it’s pretty interesting. The best part so far has been Leamas’ evaluation of the other spies around him, whether from the Circus (aka MI6) or East Berlin; he sees through all their lies to figure out their motivations and weaknesses so he can act accordingly (which apparently requires being a complete jerk to everybody). I was really confused at first because right after he gets his assignment he starts doing things that seemed strange and super random like:

  • Being forced into semi-retirement by Control.
  • Is fired from the financial branch of the Circus for drinking and embezzlement
  •  Gets a job at a library (and hooks up with an employee named Liz)
  • Picks a fight with a grocery store owner and goes to prison for three months.

I didn’t know how the heck all of that was supposed to help the Circus get rid of Mundt. I thought that having him go to seed would make sense to make him seem like less of a threat, but I didn’t understand the fight and prison time at all. But I think (as of right now, anyway) that he was basically creating a cover with his own life to make the spies from East Germany try to turn him against the Circus. So I guess I’ll just have to finish the book to know for sure.

I just found out that The Spy Who Came in from the Cold is apparently a sequel to Call for the Dead, which might explain why I’m so confused. Whoops! And I don’t usually read spy novels, so that probably doesn’t help things much either. I just realized that I’ve talked about spies in movies an awful lot here, so it’s kind of surprising that I don’t actually read about them, but anyway.

Hopefully I’ll figure out what’s going on so I can go ahead and finish the book, although honestly all I feel like doing is watching Thunderball or one of the other old James Bond movies with Sean Connery. Even though Connery’s Bond is ridiculously sleazy (in Thunderball I was like “Really? You had to sleep with the bad guy? What’s wrong with you?), as far as Bonds go, I like him and Daniel Craig a lot more than Pierce Brosnan, although I guess I should watch Timothy Dalton and Roger Moore before picking my favorite Bond. I just really, really don’t like Pierce Brosnan. He bugs me.

