The British are Coming, the British are Coming!

No I’m not going to England tomorrow. But I am going to Boston to visit my friend Mindy and I’ve never been before, so whenever I think of Boston I think of history in elementary school when we learned all about Paul Revere and “One if by land, two if by sea” and all that. So I’ll be able to replace mental pictures of Paul Revere with what Boston is actually like. Which, according to Mindy, includes Dunkin Donuts on every corner, like Starbucks in the south. Weird.

Today has been craaaazy. I had to finish up some stuff for school so I don’t have to worry about it while I’m gone, bought text books, and talked to waaaaay too many business-y people on the phone, including the stupidest woman I’ve ever had a phone conversation with. And I mean EVER. It was kind of impressive actually. Speaking of impressive, just look at all the awesome things I’ve packed to keep me busy while I’m on a train for 12+ hours!

The books will definitely tide me over till I get there (I can’t even fathom sitting in one spot for 12 HOURS) and I can always knit in between if I get fidgety. I’m a little nervous about getting stuck next to some awkward person or right in front of a kid throwing a temper tantrum. But it’ll all be worth because I get to see MINDY tomorrow!!!! I’m so excited! We’re going to have a chick flick marathon and go shopping and walk around Boston, and maybe even visit Maine! I can’t wait to see Mindy again because I haven’t seen her since May and I’ve missed her a ton this summer and I’ve really missed girl time. I’ve hung out with friends from church and high school, but I kind of miss living on a girl’s hall where there’s always someone willing to watch a chick flick  and do other girly stuff. (I’m sure I’ll change my mind if Gilmore Girls is on a loop in the commons for a month straight again. I like Gilmore Girls and everything, but a month? Really?)

Speaking of movies, these are the movies I got in the $5 bin at Walmart and I’m already planning a chick flicks marathon with Mindy and Karen and Lisa. (Can you say roomie bonding time? Heck yes!)

I’m watching some last-minute Psych (the speed dating episdoe) and Shawn just told Lassie to take off his tie and show some chest hair because “Ladies love the sternum bush!” Augh! No we do not! I’m still scarred from the time I was watching an MMA fight with my Dad and one of the guys had a sweater vest made of his chest hair. With the v-neck and everything! It was bad on way too many levels.I t was a scarring experience- my retinas still haven’t recovered.

So now that I’ve started rambling, I think it’s time to call it a night. I’m gonna be gone for a week so there won’t be any posts till I get back but I’ll have lots of funny stories to tell you then! See you later!

