I don’t give a Good Goose Fart on a Muggy Day

I’m back! And I had a super-duper busy week with Mindy. I visited 3 states I’ve never been to before: Massachusetts, Maine, and Rhode Island and discovered that there are such things as full-service gas stations (who knew!) and tried rhubarb for the first time ever (it’s strange… but not bad).


I think one of my favorite places we went to was the Boston Commons- it was so beautiful! If I went to school in Boston, I would probably spend most of my time “studying” there, even though there are mean swans swimming around and squirrels that are way too used to people and will come right up to you. (I know a girl who got attacked by squirrel, ok? I don’t mind them as long as they don’t come near me, but if they do, I don’t like it.) See they’re all cute and innocent… until they come sprinting toward you for no apparent reason.


This is the squirrel’s butt when it was running away… after I screamed and scared it off.

I think the thing that surprised me most was the beaches in Maine; they’re all stony and boulder-y, and they aren’t like the beaches down south at all. Mindy’s family thought it was hilarious when I said the beaches were a lie… almost as funny as the tourists who were sitting out on those rocks in bikinis. And apparently Maine is known for having lots of moosen (Yay for Brian Regan! You really need to listen to his Stupid in School routine!) so I got a little moose stuffed-animal with a Maine sweater and a hat with a lobster on it. It’s pretty much the cutest thing ever. I still need to think of a name for him though. Jack says I should go for Francis, but I’m not sure about that one…


Mindy was scandalized by my lack of chick-flick knowledge, so she made it her personal mission to make me watch as many as possible while I was staying with her. We watched New in Town (where the “good Goose fart” quote for the title comes from), Kate & Leopold (which was absolutely adorable, and might be enough to make me a Hugh Jackman fan), Sweet Home Alabama (which I’d seen but she hadn’t, which is really surprising), Night at the Museum 2 (which isn’t really a chick flick, but whatever. I love the Darth Vader cameo!) and the White Collar and Covert Affairs season finales. I got a little too excited when Auggie made a Star Wars reference, which only adds to the reasons Annie should just go ahead and date him already. (I pretty much watch that show just for Auggie. Annie rubs me the wrong way because she’s really naive for a CIA agent and her sister is super obnoxious. And don’t get me started on Jai, who is a major weasel-face.)

This was such a good trip, and I had a great time with Mindy and her family and I really love Boston! It’s like New York City, but less claustrophobic and with more trees. I definitely want to go back again sometime, except maybe without getting lost in Newport next time. I’ll have to tell you about that one later…

