If I was a Big Bad Movie Director

I would definitely bust out some remakes. I know everybody talks about how Hollywood is unoriginal and keeps recycling ideas (*cough, cough* every “gritty” super hero movie since Batman Begins), but I think it would be fun. Not that the other directors necessarily did it wrong or that gung-ho fans would like my version any better than the original… but I would like them more because I’d fix them the way I like them. Mwahaha.

  1. The Last Airbender- this one pains me, it really does. I love M. Night Shyamalan; I love The Village, Unbreakable, even Lady in the Water, even though most people hated that movie. I honestly haven’t watched The Last Airbender because I heard it was so bad. (It has a 6% rating on Rotten Tomatoes. 6%!!! That’s just awful.)  My brother said that only the really powerful firebenders could create their own fire and the Red Shirts had to carry around little candles as their fire-source, which doesn’t even make sense. Plus they had Jackson Rathbone as Sokka, and he just seems super creepy and un-funny to me. The ickiness of this movie wouldn’t bother me except that the TV show is so good, and the movie could’ve been really good too! Sad.
  2. Prince Caspian– I don’t know what happened with this one. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe was so good and hit the perfect balance of following the book and making changes to make a good movie. And then Prince Caspian completely threw that out the window. I know the castle-invasion and calling up Jadis scenes bothered people, but what really bugged me was the changes they made to Peter. Book-Peter was kingly, noble,  nice to Caspian, and worked selflessly to put him on the throne. Movie-Peter was an arrogant tool who picked fights with Caspian and questioned his abilities in front of all the Narnians (not a good idea when you’re trying to boost morale). Not okay, Mr. Grumpy-Gills Peter, not okay.
  3. I know this movie hasn’t come out yet (and I’m actually kind of excited about it) but a post on Rusty Sarcasm made me wonder why they didn’t follow the original Theseus myth. I love Greek and Roman mythology, but whenever they do movies about them they seem to change everything when the original myths would be super cool for a movie! (At least I think so…) Somebody please make a movie about Theseus and the minotaur… or Jason and the Argonauts… or Perseus and Medusa! I would totally go to see that!

Random subject change! I went to grab lunch at Market at Main with my Grandma today because I’m leaving for school next week, and I got the ridiculously yummy turkey-and-chipotle-sauce sandwich that I got there when I went with Kaley. And then I went to get a haircut with Nicole and April and Katie today and I really like it! I was kind of nervous that it would get super short or look strange (I’ve had some pretty bad haircuts: one was kind of shaped like Darth Vader’s helmet, but I don’t really like to talk about that one…) And I got some absurdly high heels that are just waiting for me to break my ankles in. But they’re really cute and they were only $5 so I couldn’t really say no to that. Now I just need to practice walking in them without dying. Wish me luck!

