Peter’s Pants will be the Death of Me

So I’ve been shopping twice in the past two weeks for my job- I basically get to buy the ugliest and/or most ridiculous clothes I can find for the costumes and it’s awesome. The only thing throwing a kink in the machine is that all the actors have special size issues (like two actors playing the same part with completely different heights and body types). I have most of the costumes worked out; Katie’s is the most entertaining because she’s wearing a fat suit and playing a man. Peter, on the other hand, is causing problems because I need to find 2 pairs of identical pants, one of which is slightly smaller than the other, that look good with the suit coats we have for him. Needless to say, I’ve been all over the place looking for pants with no luck so far. (And dragging poor Dima and Karen along with me. Sorry guys!). So Peter’s pants problem is currently giving me nightmares.

But while I was cleaning up the costume room I started finding all of these cool costumes that made me think, “Oh I wish we could do this play because then I could use this awesome random thing I just found!” Since it would be super hard to do any of these shows with the limited space/ manpower we have (and a lot of them don’t even have scripts specifically written for the stage), I made up a list of the plays I would love to do costumes for, if I had crazy sewing skills and oodles of free time:

  1. Robin Hood: I found so many leather jerkin-type shirts that I could basically clothe Robin Hood and all of his Merry Men. It’s kind of crazy! I would love to do a sort of spoofy-Robin Hood, like Robin Hood: Men in Tights. I have no idea how we would actually accomplish that, but I’d be 100% on board if we tried it.
  2. Beauty and the Beast: this one’s more of a stretch because it’s such a big cast, but Annie was looking through a filing cabinet the other day and found a pattern that looked almost exactly like Belle’s yellow dress and I’ve been itching to use it for a show. Since that was one of my childhood favorite movies,  it would literally be a dream come true to make that dress… especially if I got to try it on at some point. To make sure the hem’s straight and the zipper works, of course.
  3. Alice in Wonderland: This is another of those books/movies that doesn’t have a script and would be really hard to pull off, but I would have way too much fun designing costumes for the singing flowers, the Cheshire Cat, the Mad Hatter and March Hare, the Queen of Hearts, and Alice, of course. Ever since my Girl Scout Troop did an Alice in Wonderland-themed Jamboree (with costumes and everything! I was the March Hare and my friend Lauren went all out with her Queen of Hearts costume. It was intense!) I’ve had a mild AIW obsession. Not strange at all.
  4. Pride and Prejudice: there’s no play-script (I’m sure there’s an official name for this, I just can’t remember) for this either, but I would love to do Regency- era clothes, and honestly, who wouldn’t want to make costumes for legendary characters like Elizabeth and Darcy? I mean, it would be super intimidating, but it’d be a fun challenge, and I think I would enjoy it.
  5. Peter Pan: I found a white feather that would be perfect for a Captain Hook hat! So basically, I want to put on the show just to make a costume for Captain Hook and Peter Pan (and Wendy now that I think about it…). Plus the epic sword-fight at the end would be really cool too.
