All for One, and One for All!

One more movie down on my movies-to-watch list! I finally got to see The Three Musketeers with Karen and my friend Laura Halfinger today and I was really surprised, because it was way better than I expected! Totally worth the wait.

Photo by Rolf Konow – © 2011 Constantin Film Produktion GmbH, NEF Productions, S.A.S., and New Legacy Film Ltd. All rights reserved.

I loved the entire cast– as Athos, Matthew Macfadyen was surprisingly  bitter and grumpy for a former Mr. Darcy, Ray Stevenson was clearly the heavy of the group as Porthos (I loved the scene where he beat Richelieu’s guards senseless– with wooden buckets. It was great.), Luke Evans unfortunately didn’t have as much of an opportunity to play the part of Aramis, the warrior-priest-musketeer. But D’Artagnan was probably my favorite; Logan Lerman played the cocky hotshot perfectly, and was super adorable with Constance to boot.

Orlando Bloom was clearly having way too much fun playing Buckingham, but I really enjoyed it. I loved his description of Louis’ outfit as “retro” although I admit the word choice made me cringe. This is one important thing to remember before you see the movie; the movie isn’t trying to follow the book, or even necessarily be historically accurate. It’s willing to have fun with the history, like Tarantino’s  Inglourious Basterds or Sofia Coppola’s Marie Antoinette (although The Three Musketeers has more reason to and is a lot more entertaining than Marie Antoinette if you ask me).

Photo by Rolf Konow, SMPSP – © 2011 Constantin Film Produktion GmbH, NEF Productions, S.A.S., and New Legacy Film Ltd. All rights reserved.

I loved Juno Temple as Queen Anne. She was super adorable, and so sweet– she loved Louis, who’s kind of a ninny. I also loved that she saw right through Richelieu when no one else did. She’s one smart cookie. I would love to have her wardrobe, except you know, for all the corsets and such. Those don’t seem like very much fun.

The action was really cool, although it might be less distracting without the 3-D next time. The quality of the 3-D was definitely way better than Step Up 3-D, which was pretty terrible, both as a movie and because of the quality of its graphics. I really appreciated that 3 Musketeers didn’t seem to go out of its way to have cool 3-D effects. It never felt like the filmmakers were saying, “Hey guys, just look at this sword that I have pointing at your face! Aren’t we cool and high-tech? This makes it a good movie right?” It just gave everything a kind of cool, more realistic look, like the actors were standing in the room with you.

Photo by Rolf Konow, SMPSP – © 2011 Constantin Film Produktion GmbH, NEF Productions, S.A.S., and New Legacy Film Ltd. All rights reserved.

Milla Jovovich as Lady de Winter actually didn’t bother me as much as I was expecting. She was even sort of funny with her snarkiness and flirting with Athos, Buckingham, and pretty much every other male character to get her way. Her line about D’Artagnan being “too pretty” for Rochefort to kill made Karen and I laugh out loud. But honestly, the scene where she sneaks into Queen Anne’s chambers to steal the diamond necklace in just a corset and awkwardly-short-in-the-front-petticoat was clearly just fanservice for all the Resident Evil fans/random guys in the audience; it didn’t help the story at all. I was kind of ticked about that.

Photo by Rolf Konow, SMPSP – © 2011 Constantin Film Produktion GmbH, NEF Productions, S.A.S., and New Legacy Film Ltd. All rights reserved.

And because this wouldn’t be my post if I didn’t talk about costumes, I loved the costumes in this movie (with the exception of Milady’s stupid stealth outfit, of course). They were all really well made and distinguished the characters from each other– sometimes it’s hard to tell social class in a period movie because they make everyone look equally fancy, but in this one you could tell that D’Artagnan came from a poor family and both Louis and Buckingham were fops just by looking at them (this was especially important because D’Artagnan’s ragged peasant attire is commented on and Louis is extremely concerned about what color Buckingham is wearing). I loved the fact that Louis was wearing high heels because they were totally the rage for guys back then.

Photo by Rolf Konow, SMPSP – © 2011 Constantin Film Produktion GmbH, NEF Productions, S.A.S., and New Legacy Film Ltd. All rights reserved.

Aren’t they awesome? Especially with his puffy shorts.

Photo by Rolf Konow – © 2011 Constantin Film Produktion GmbH, NEF Productions, S.A.S., and New Legacy Film Ltd. All rights reserved.

I also thought it was interesting that they left the ending open for a sequel; usually I hate sequels, but this movie was so fun and action-packed that I would pretty much be okay with them making another. As long as they don’t turn it into The Pirates of the Caribbean with 3 more sequels than they needed.

