Snark! The Harold Angels Sing

Karen saw this book when we were at Barnes & Noble and she said “Tabitha, that’s you!” I didn’t know if I should be worried or amused- does this mean I’m Grinchy? It has been harder to get in the Christmas spirit because of all the craziness with the end of the semester, and I could hardly believe that Christmas Eve is this Saturday! I thought it was next week. But I wrapped all my presents today, so now it feels more like Christmas. I’m excited!

I’m also excited because The Hobbit trailer came out last night and I’m so excited and sad at the same time; I don’t know how I’m going to wait until next December for it to come out! But my friend Teddy is all excited and wants to dress up. We were trying to figure out who I would dress up as (if we do end up getting our inner-nerd on) because there weren’t really any memorable female characters in The Hobbit. We were talking about maybe stealing some of the female characters from LOTR like Goldberry or Arwen. Teddy even suggested having me go as Radagast the Brown, which would be problematic because of the beard, so I wasn’t a big fan of that.

And then I got an idea: I could go as Smaug! I know it’s probably crazy, but hey, I’ve been thinking about costumes for a mad scientist and all of his experiments, so weird costumes are kind of becoming my specialty. And the odds of other people dressed up as Smaug would be small. I have no idea whether I’ll be able to pull it off, or whether I’ll even want to advertise my nerdiness so blatantly, but I was thinking about wearing a lot of jewelry and sparkly stuff that came from the “dragon’s hoard.” Maybe like this necklace:

One good thing about having to wait so long to see the movie is that I’ll have plenty of time to either come up with a costume or an excuse to not wear one. So it’ll be a win-win!

