The Nerdy Joys of an English Major

3 guesses what I got at Barnes & Noble yesterday, and the first two don’t count. šŸ™‚ I totally caved and bought The Son of Neptune, and it’s awesome! I’m going to be sad when I’m done because I won’t be able to get my Greek/ Roman mythology fix until next Fall, which I’m not okay with. My brother just asked about the books and said he wouldn’t be able to read them without think of Logan Lerman from the movie, and according to Jack, he’s weird looking. Which is just stupid, because he’s adorable and a pretty good actor to boot. (Karen and I may or may not have had a dibs fight on the way home from The Three Musketeers. I’m not proud of it… but I totally won haha.)

I found I Am Half-Sick of Shadows (it took me a while because it was right next to this super creepy book cover that I’d been trying to avoid looking at.) I’m going to ask for it for my birthday which will be coming in a little over a month. But I did check the inside and Bradley quoted a snippet of “The Lady of Shalott,” so it does have something to do with the book somehow, and I’m super excited to find out how. I was geeking out about it in the car and Jack leaned over to my Mom and muttered, “Oh, the nerdy joys of an English major.” Little did he know I basically picked this major just so I can have nerdy moments about allusions and themes and such. I mean, if someone’s gonna do it, it might as well be me.

Here are some pictures of the coconut cake I made for Christmas that I’ve been meaning to post.

The whole frosting process went a little better than the last time I made a layer cake, but for the life of me I apparently can’t make a cake that doesn’t lean. The frosting was almost a melting-marshmallow texture so the upper layers kept sliding around, which freaked me out for a little while, but it finally decided to behave. I think my frosting looks better when I have coconut to sprinkle all over it.

I got the recipe from Better Home and Gardens’ Annual Recipes of 2010, which called for a fresh, whole coconut. That sounded like it would take way too much time to mess with, so I just got good ol’ regular sweetened coconut. That turned out to be a good idea, because the frosting was really fussy with simple syrups that had to be at a certain temperature while the egg whites were being fluffed and then mixed together when, and only when, the egg whites had stiff peaks and the simple syrup was exactly 240 degrees. For a while I wasn’t sure whether the cake would be worth getting myself and the entire kitchen completely sticky, but it totally was. I think it might have been even better the second day. I’m going to have to make this recipe again because Teddy has never had coconut cake before, which is just sad. I’m going to have to change that. Mwahaha!

