Remember, Remember the 5th of November

Sorry for going dark for so long! I don’t even have any cool excuses, like being recruited for a top-secret mission, or captured by an enemy organization, or even taking exams. I just have been super distract-able lately.

A week or so ago, I finally managed to catch up on Firefly and Serenity, which was awesome, of course. My impressions of this movie are: the Reavers are super creepy (I know they’re supposed to be… but cannibalistic rapists is the stuff of nightmares), Nathan Fillion’s hair is really good in this movie, Wash! (no spoilers, but if you’ve seen the movie, you know), and it kills me that the only resolution between Malcolm and Inara was an “I don’t know,” and “That’s a good answer.” I know their whole relationship is based on bickering and will-they-won’t-they, but come on! Even a smidge more resolution would’ve made me a happy camper.

And yesterday I finally watched V for Vendetta. I’ve been wanting to watch this for a ridiculously long time, so I don’t know how it took me so long to actually do it. It’s one of those movies that I feel like I need to watch it a few more times so I can pick up all the details; there are just so many that I’m sure some went right over my head. Maybe when I was geeking out about Rupert Graves (Lestrade from BBC’s Sherlock, which I love) being Detective Dominic…

I also loved the Beauty and the Beast/ Phantom of the Opera-esque relationship between Evey and V. I kind of got really excited about the comparison, until Teddy pointed out that since V had been in Larkhill with Valerie, he was probably gay. Stupid Teddy making good points that spoil my movie comparisons. But then at the end V said that he had fallen in love with Evey, so I think we were both right on this one.

I loved Natalie Portman in this movie- I basically love her all the time, but I think this was the best movie I’ve seen her in so far. I also loved Stephen Fry as Gordon Dietrich; the “Quick, Evey! Hide!” scene was heartbreaking, especially because it mirrored the scene when Evey’s mother was captured. So sad!

Well I’m off to bake brownies and watch a movie with Ryu! I’m really glad this has been a nice, relaxing weekend so far because Thursday was the craziest day I’ve had this semester. And I’m really excited, because my birthday is coming up and we don’t have classes Tuesday because of Day of Prayer! I can’t wait for next week!

