James and the Giant Peach: a trip down Memory Lane

Lately I didn’t think it was possible, but this is the 4th post in 4 consecutive days! I don’t even know what’s happening!

And I finally found a blog Theme I like: Triton Lite. The last theme I had showed a featured image for each post, but it would only include part of the picture, and the size would change depending on its placement on the homepage. And it really bugged me that sometimes you would see the least important part, so you had no idea what the post was actually about. This theme shows the whole picture, which makes me a happy camper, plus it seems like it’s easier to navigate. I hope you guys like it!

I’ve been working on homework for most of the day so my brain’s rebelling a little bit; “What? You’re making me think? Over break?!?” But I’m hoping it’ll make the next couple of weeks less stressful.

http://leaf-pile.blogspot.com/2011_01_01_archive.html

One part of my homework that I definitely can’t complain about is reading all my favorite books from when I was little: Corduroy, Dr. Seuss, Ella Enchanted, The Whipping Boy, and Thunder Cake.  James and the Giant Peach was one of the books I read today, and it was super nostalgic for me. I was surprised by how gruesome the book is sometimes– James’ parents are eaten by a rhinoceros and Aunt Sponge and Aunt Spiker’s squishy demise is immortalized in the Centipede’s song. But honestly I don’t remember being scared or grossed out when my teacher read this out loud to my class; I guess it’s something Roald Dahl’s novels share with the Grimms’ original fairy tales. Kids must be able take more scariness than we give them credit for. And this is coming from the girl who didn’t watch The Wizard of Oz until I was 10- the Flying Monkeys were creepy!

http://hilarywgraham.wordpress.com/2011/08/10/flying-monkeys/

I think I’ll keep this short and sweet, but I thought I’d share a snapshot of some gifs I saw on Tumblr that made me laugh. Apparently I need to watch John Green’s videos, because the little clips I’ve seen are always really funny (I originally saw this clip on timesforgotten‘s Tumblr). I apologize in advance to John Green- WordPress doesn’t support gifs, so I had to take a screenshot… and he’s making some funny faces in some of them. Sorry about that!

http://whispering-literature.tumblr.com/post/16956646562

I think this might be the best combination of Romantic poets and rap I’ve ever seen. I approve!

