General Geekery (and yes, I just made that word up)

Do you ever have days where you’re excited about everything for no apparent reason? I’m talking bouncing-up-and-down-in-your-seat, full on Disney-Princess levels of glee. That was me today; I’m pretty sure I could have given Enchanted‘s Giselle or Tangled‘s Rapunzel a run for their money.

Gotta love the pained expression on Flynn’s face. “How long do I have to keep smiling?”

I was so antsy by three o’clock that I took a break and ran over to the Williams-Sonoma store, which just so happens to be within walking distance of my office. After spending a few minutes drooling over all of their gadgets and the Williams-Sonoma Soup cookbook, I found a cookbook called The Farm by Ian Knauer. Normally I would avoid this book because I have an unfounded fear of dishes with a “vegetarian” label– what can I say, I’m a meat-and-potatoes kind of girl– so any cookbook with “Farm” in the title must automatically contain mostly veggie recipes. But this cookbook has really yummy-sounding meat and veggie recipes, including the technique for roasting a whole pig, which I don’t think I’ll be trying any time soon. Even with the Fred Flintstone-style barbecued pig, this book quickly became an addition to my imaginary cookbook library.

So besides geeking out over cookbooks, my inner-nerd has been even less subtle than normal lately; the jury’s still out on whether I ever hide my dorkiness with any amount of success. Lately I’ve been really overly excited about The Bourne Legacy and The Avengers, which I saw again the other night with Sophie (I’m staying at her house over the summer and we’ve been discovering that we’re nerds about a lot of the same things, which is really surprising, but nice too). I showed her the fandom tea blends at Adagio that I found on tumblr; they literally have teas for characters from everything from Sherlock to The Avengers to  Harry Potter. It makes me want to buy a bunch of them, and I’m not even a tea person! It’s also fueling the fire for some ridiculous English major nerdiness and cooking nerdiness combinations that I’ve been thinking about lately, but I guess we’ll have to see if they survive the nerdy hullabaloo going on in my head right now.

I just hope my not-so-inner-geek doesn’t make an appearance in public anytime soon; it might take a while to recover from that for everybody involved.

