Movie Quotes as a Second Language

(This poster from Etsy isn’t available anymore, but it sure is funny)

This picture came up on my Pinterest dashboard, and it made me laugh. It also made me wonder if I could get away with adding it to the pitiful list of languages I speak. Because I went to a Classical Christian high school, I’ve never taken a language that wasn’t dead, so it’ll definitely be interesting when I take German 1 next semester and am expected to actually be able to speak the language I’m learning.

Speaking of weird movie/book trivia , I’ve been rereading the Harry Potter series this summer, so when I went to the Williams-Sonoma outlet (again),  and saw the shelves of Fiona’s Sweetshoppe candy, I remembered Dumbledore mentioning that he loves the “Muggle sweets”  called Sherbet Lemons. My Mom would want to know why I remember useless trivia like this and not more important things like math formulas or things on my to-do list, but in my defense, I just read Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone two or three weeks ago, so it was sort of fresh in my brain.

Sadly, I think I’ll have to wait a few weeks before I visit the Williams-Sonoma store again; I’m a little worried they’ll start to recognize me soon, partly because of a skirt malfunction I had there (don’t ask), and partly because I get excited about random merchandise and take pictures with my phone. Cause, you know, that’s completely normal behavior.

And I didn’t forget about my new plan to come up with food to go with themed movie nights, but Thursday night my office had their big board dinner, so I had to switch my cooking night to tonight. But I’m making a meal inspired by the Hunger Games that happens to be a bunch of recipes I’ve never made before, so hopefully it turns out alright!

