Okay, Future Man

This weekend was apparently movie-weekend for me. I went to see Men in Black 3 with Laura, one of the other interns I met at World Magazine at The Carolina theater. It’s one of the oddest movie theaters I’ve ever been to; there were strange shapes hanging from the ceiling as decoration, beer on tap, and couches instead of the typical stadium-style seating. Laura joked that she might have to take her boyfriend there if he visits to show him what movie theaters are like in the south. I told her that I’m pretty sure it’s just a weird Asheville thing, and not a southern thing in general.

I actually liked having couches instead of seats though– after the mad rush to see the movie premiere is over, I think it’d be nice to move it to a couch-theater. The seats are comfier, there’s more room to spread out, and since there are less people it almost feels like a movie night in your own living room. I wouldn’t mind that becoming more prevalent in other theaters.

While we were watching the previews, Laura taught me this game where you pick either a 1 or 2 and and every odd or even numbered preview plus the movie you’re about to see describes your life. My previews were The Expendables and Skyfall, so I was James Bond fighting aliens as one of The Expendables; she had Total Recall and The Amazing Spider-man, so she was Doug Quaid fighting aliens with awesome spidey-powers. I don’t know about her, but I was pretty pleased with my new alter ego- who wouldn’t want to be James Bond?

 

As for the actual movie, I think this might be my favorite of the Men in Black series. I inevitably forget about the gross-out factor, but I remembered pretty quickly because Boris the Animal is one gnarly dude. It might have something to do with the fact that if you call him Boris the Animal he growls, “It’s JUST BORIS!” and throws spines at you from a little detachable monster that lives in his hand. Not cute.

Can I just say that I love Agents K and J as partners? This time around Agent K is a little older, a little sadder, but just as crotchety as the first two installments. Agent J is just as snarky, and still gives his little moral speeches after he neuralizes eyewitnesses. One of the best speeches was to the two policeman in 1969 when they suspected him of stealing a car because it was too “nice” for him to drive. It was interesting to see how they incorporated the racial elements of the 1960’s into the film.

Josh Brolin as the young Agent K was one of my favorite parts about the movie. The contrast between him and the older Agent K is startling; while they’re both very matter-of-fact with deadpan reactions to Agent J’s antics, the young Agent K smiles more while talking about spending the night throwing darts with Agent O in a British pub than the older K does in the first two movies combined (I’m guesstimating). When J asks repeatedly, “What happened to you?” K actually laughs and says, “I don’t know, it hasn’t happened yet.” It’s like the classic tragedies where you know what will happen to the character, but you don’t know the “how,” so you’re waiting for that pivotal moment to see what happens. And in Agent K’s case, it was a pretty heartbreaking moment.

I really enjoyed this movie, and I’m looking forward to getting it from Redbox to watch with my brothers or with Karen and Teddy after next semester starts again.

