Well, this is awkward…

So I haven’t posted in a really long time, since June 25 to be exact. It’s partially a result of being super busy, but I also ran out of things to say. Do you ever get in a mood where something you were really excited about suddenly seems completely stupid and pointless? Suddenly all of my blogging ideas seemed silly, and I lost all motivation to post.

But then I was thinking that I kept up with this blog for a year, and I didn’t just want to abandon it at the drop of a hat. And thanks for the comments in the past couple days, because they kind of helped give me the push to publish another post. (You should go check out David’s blog, where he writes great poetry! One of them even mentions me and my roommate, so that was really awesome and nice!)

I’m still not quite sure what direction the blog will take, but it is alive again, so we’ll see where the adventure takes us!

Here’s some of the things that I’ve been up during the unofficial hiatus:

  • Taking a crazy mix of classes that I’m really enjoying- Shakespeare (my favorite class this semester), Harry Potter, Geology (aka Rocks for Jocks, which is harder than the name would suggest, but I love the hands-on labs), and German 1, which I’m really enjoying and wish I had started taking earlier in my college career.
  • Working on two research papers– one on the witches’ role in Macbeth for Shakespeare and another on the effect of the prophecy on Neville Longbottom and his role as Harry’s foil and doppelganger for Harry Potter– which I’m really excited about!
  • I signed up for NaNoWriMo despite the fact that I won’t be able to get 50,000 words done in a month because of those research papers. But I’m looking forward to an excuse for working on the idea currently swirling around in my head; if you’re also doing NaNoWriMo, my username’s Garnet Jones, so feel free to look me up!
  • Drooling over food blogs, especially Desserts for Breakfast and Honey & Jam. I was especially inspired by a Desserts for Breakfast post about finding balance between seemingly contradictory career interests. It made me feel better about the possibilities after I graduate (in just a year and half! When did that happen?!) My mom will be happy to know that Garance Dore’s post got me thinking about being/ dressing professionally, which goes along with my job thoughts.
  • Read John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars and ugly-cried, which has never happened while reading a book before. So well done, Mr. Green, you made my soul die.
  • Read Death at the Chateau Bremont by M. L. Longworth, and found a new murder mystery series that I’m really excited to get into. I also fell in love with the descriptions of French food, and wish I could hop on a plane to Aix to try some right now.
  • I’m itching for a chance to go to Barnes & Noble just to look at The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook. I’m going to ask for it for Christmas,  but I just want to go look at all the pretty since I’ve been waiting for it so long.
  • Ironically after all the drooling over food blogs, I’ve been cooking/baking much less this semester. I’m not quite sure why, but I always want to bake or cook until I have the time to, when I suddenly just want something fast and easy. So hopefully my baking mojo will be back in sync soon, because I miss it.

I’m looking forward to more blogging adventures, so I’ll see you crazy kids soon!

