Friendzoned

This promo shot for The Empire Strikes Back came up on my Tumblr dashboard this afternoon (see here), and it is officially the best thing I’ve seen all day. And obviously everyone needs to see it. I’m just glad that they knew the whole Luke & Leia thing from A New Hope was super weird and were able to have fun with it.

But seriously, why did she kiss him when she “always knew” that he was her brother? And why did George Lucas intentionally make that creepy little love triangle when Star Wars was focusing on making stuff blow up instead of psychology or heavy issues? Clearly I have unresolved Star Wars feelings.

Now back to your regularly scheduled programming! (And my presentations for tomorrow… yay…)

P.S. What do you think of the news that there will be new Star Wars movies? I really want them to be good, but I’m a little worried that they’ll be sequels to the original series– how are they going to find actors for Luke, Leia, and Han Solo? Are they going to use the same actors?

Personally I think they’d be better off with a prequel to the prequels. That way they could go back to the original war between the Jedi and the Sith, or during the Golden Age of the Jedi. At least then they could start off with all new actors and characters (Who would hopefully be better actors than Hayden Christiansen. Just saying.)

