One of those Things

This has been one of those weeks. You know, those weeks where you feel like a hot mess and doing your laundry feels like a major accomplishment? (For the record, mine is clean, but whether it will actually make it from my laundry basket into the dresser is the big question of the week. But I have clean pants, so it still counts.) Yeah, I’ve been having one of those weeks, and I have a feeling it might turn into one of those months. Spring semesters have always been the hardest for me since I’ve been at Covenant, and this semester has been especially overwhelming.

One of the things that’s been particularly hard is the prospect of finding a job after I graduate. Is anybody else intimidated by all the supposedly “entry level” job descriptions that ask for 3+ years of experience, multiple unpaid internships, a list of  20 extracurricular activities and an essay about how you personally solved world hunger? My job search is starting to feel less like a job search and more like a negotiation with Rumpelstiltskin. And as everyone who’s read the story can tell you, Rumpelstiltskin is a very tough negotiator.

Needless to say, this stage of life can be a little demoralizing. After four years in college, you’re expected to be able to know what you’ve learned and what you’ll be doing next. And at this point, I don’t have all the answers, and that’s a little scary.

Luckily for those days where the future seems frightening and impenetrable, there are biscuits to be made.

Image

During the snow day earlier this week, my roommates and I were in need of something hot from the oven and a little bit fattening (That’s a snow day rule. I’m not the one who makes up the rules, so who am I to question them?). These Parmesan Thyme Buttermilk Biscuits from Blogging Over Thyme fit the bill perfectly. There is something cathartic about baking simple, homey biscuits when life is full of those hard questions that never showed up on the study guide. The only “new” thing this recipe called for was popping the butter into the freezer for a few minutes, and then grating it into the flour mixture. This really made incorporating the butter into the flour easier, so I might pull out this trick the next time I make scones. And if you’ve been wondering why some of those biscuits are not like the others, it’s because I decided to brush some egg wash over some of the biscuits and add some extra Parmesan on top, just to see what happened (again, snow days demand fattening food). And it added a crunchy, cheesy crust on top like those rolls with the pepperoni inside that my Mom would get us when we were little.

So the next time you’re feeling overwhelmed by classes, work, or life in general, go into the kitchen and make something, whether it’s these biscuits or cake from a box (I have done this multiple times and I am unashamed). While you’re cracking the eggs, whisking the flour, and mixing the wet ingredients into the dry ones, call up some friends and ask them to share with you, and take a moment to just relax. Because no matter what’s on your to-do list, hey, you just made biscuits. And that’s an accomplishment right up there with doing your laundry.

Also, if you’re in need for some music while you’re in the kitchen, this song is pretty fun to dance around the kitchen to. And if you decide to sing into the wooden spoon, I promise I won’t tell.

